Welcome To ₦aija Web

« | »

Gov Ortom swears in 15 commissioners, warns against corruption

Posted by on July 23rd, 2019 Under Featured

Share On Facebook

Gov Ortom swears in 15 commissioners, warns against corruption

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State on Monday inaugurated new commissioners and charged them to focus on service delivery to the people of the state.Gov Ortom swears in 15 commissioners, warns against corruption

The governor also appealed to families, friends and associates of the newly- appointed commissioners not to mount undue pressure on them at the expense of the state.

Ortom enjoined the new commissioners to acquaint themselves with the blueprint of his administration  which he said was geared to service delivery.

While stating that the commissioners were coming into governance at a time challenges were numerous, the governor urged them to deploy their experiences on the collective determination to respond to challenges.

He said, “With the swearing-in of the state exco members, we are now fully prepared to quicken the pace of service delivery and to remain committed to all the ideals we have set for ourselves in the service of Benue people.

“The new appointees should note that they are coming into governance at a time challenges are numerous and expectations are high.

“Therefore, you must strive to bring your experience to bear on our collective determination to respond to these challenges and expectations.

“These include the imperative to meet our obligations as government as well as enhance our capacity to respond effectively even with lean budgetary expenditure.

“ With the swearing-in, we appeal to you to settle down quickly and acquaint yourselves with our policy document, “Our Collective Vision for a new Benue,” as well as the manifesto of our party – the Peoples Democratic Party.

“You are also enjoined to take charge of your ministries and parastatals under them without delay.”

Ortom warned all public servants against diverting funds meant for the execution of projects for the people’s welfare and wellbeing into private pockets.

“This is unacceptable and contrary to public fiscal responsibility and we shall not hesitate to use the big stick against such conduct.

“ We appeal to permanent secretaries and other senior government officials with whom the new appointees would be working to cooperate with them and give them every support to perform maximally.

“ Our appeal also goes to family members, friends and associates to refrain from mounting undue financial and other pressures that would distract the appointees from serving the state well.”

He added, “The five main pillars of our administration remain good governance and revenue security, agriculture-driven industrialisation, STEAM-based education and health services, investment in critical infrastructure and promotion of gender, empowerment of women, youth, sports and persons with disabilities.”

The 15 commissioners including three females sworn in were Michael Gusa (Atttorney General), David Olofu (Finance), Prof. Dennis Ityavyar (Education),  Unenge Bernard (Land and Survey), Chief Dennis Ogbu (Housing), Mrs Laadi Isegbe (Youth and Sports), and Merga Kachina (Industry, Trade and Investment.)

Others were Mrs Ngunan Addingi (Information, Culture and Tourism), Dr Ongbabo Sunday (Health), Alexander Shaapera (Works),  Timothy Ijir (Agriculture), Joshua Ahire (Water and Environment), Oyiwona Emanuei (Energy), Igirgi Nyiazungwe (Women Affairs) and Victor Ukaha (Rural Development).


Click To Leave a Comment

Share On Facebook

Share On WhatsApp

Share This On Twitter

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

NOTE:- After Dropping your comment, Wait for few minutes, your comments will appear after Moderation!!

« | »

Looking for something? Search below